What If.

There are millions of people in the world. People with jobs, people with schedules, people that are busy. When was the last time you had the opportunity to sit and think for a while? Everyone has a schedule. Every second of every day is planned out. Appointments, sports, shopping, going to the movies, work, school–you name it. We try to plan our schedules in such a way that it will be time effective. Another word for that would be “overwhelming.” By the time the end of a day comes around, I think, “Where did my day go? I don’t remember any of it.”

Can you go through life without living it? Can you get so wrapped up in doing life that you forget what it’s all about?  For such a long time now, I’ve been tied to my planner. I look at what I’ve done as something to check off the list. I’ve come accustomed to looking for quantity, not quality.

Realizing this has made me think about changing my perspective on certain things. I want my life to count for something. I want someone’s life to be easier because of me. I want to have quality friends instead of a lot of them. I want to smile more and laugh until I cry. Wherever I am, I want to be 100% there. I don’t want any kind of circumstance, situation, or person determine my happiness. More than that, I don’t want to be happy. I want to have true joy. I want it to radiate from me so it becomes contagious. I want there to be a difference in my life. I want others to talk to me and wonder what is different. More than anything, I want the Lord to change me from the inside out. I want to lean on Him for everything.

I’ve spent my life investing time and effort into people who may or may not care about me in 5 years. I put the people that I care about as my top priority. Where do I place God? That’s a good question. Sometimes He’s a priority, but if I were to truly be honest, that’s not always the case. How sad is that? The creator of the Earth, the only one in the world who will love me no matter what I do, and the only one who will literally never leave me, I can’t find as little as 15 minutes a day to spend with him? That needs to change.

I want to be God’s hands and feet to the people around me. I want to live to serve Him. I want to help people. I want my life to be more than it is. I want to live a radical life of service to my King. What if, by looking at my life, I could show a little glimpse of the Lord through me? That is my ultimate goal.

One thought on “What If.

  1. Good word in your post today. I read once, reread, and found more nuggets of truth within it. I love the “being 100% there”. So true. Make life count and give it all to the glory of God. And truly, I want friends that run deep, instead of so many that are spread so thin there is no substance there. Loved it! Thanks for posting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

